PARENTING? YOU’RE DOING IT RIGHT!

So, today started as any other, woke up, dossed about a bit waiting for my brain to come online. Put on a documentary about the troubles in Ireland trying to figure out why the fuck we are there at all!

Didn’t find any answers, so still feel the same as I do about the falkland islands, “its fucking miles away, just cause some fucker wanted to extend his land mass, killed all the indigenous folk, don’t make it yours….”

…but I digress 😀

Here I am  just doing the same old shite I ALWAYS do (I watch lots of documentary’s on history and stuff cause I’m, WELL boring) whilst I do so, I scan my facebook newsfeed.

Doing that, this morning. I saw a post, concerning Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitts daughter Shiloh. How they had accepted her desire to be now referred to as John and it had the most strangest of effects on me…

Its the weirdest thing, PURELY because I would never expect to have felt such joy, such COMPLETE unadulterated  happiness to the point of tears, SUCH a strong emotive reaction, for a young person whom not only have I never met but whom I’m never likely to meet.

I know that it is perhaps because of the complete opposite effect the story of young Leela Alcorn -who recently committed suicide through feelings of despair that her choice to live as a young woman wasn’t accepted by her parents- and the effect that had on me. That reading her words and her story made me completely distraught and devastated that she couldn’t have been born to me.

I would have told her she should be WHOEVER she wished to be and that as I do believe God knows you from before you were born. Did she think anything is a surprise to him?

I would have reassured her, reassured MY daughter, MY child! That our bodies have gender, but our spirits do not, that as our bodies cannot be saved. God is ONLY interested in our genderless spirits. He KNEW her, knows her, loves her regardless and that her pain could be used to help others.

If she was mine, I would have empowered her to become ALL she wanted to be. ALL the while reminding her that she was loved and she was a butterfly, the caterpillars would never understand her. But it didn’t matter, cause now she had wings, she could fly away from their negativity! I wept for that child and I now weep for little John, but for him, these are tears of joy.

For me, a new admiration for the Pitt/Jolie’s came out also. As a non famous person, I KNOW we cannot even begin to appreciate the delicate balance that public opinion has on the very real danger of being denied work as Hollywood is largely very bigoted.

They put their child’s emotional welfare above the opinions of the increasingly transphobic hollywood. In fact, even saying that I realise, they haven’t even thought of that because John’s identity, his emotions and his welfare was the ONLY thing on their mind. I am in awe.

Now, I would have been exactly the same, but I do not live in a goldfish bowl (I rarely interact with humans if I can possibly help it 😉 ) I have no career, I have no income I am a VERY poor NOBODY, I can afford to say hollywood sucks, they however? They risk not only their careers but their lifestyle their ability to cloth and feed themselves and their very large family. Yet, they decided his need to be WHO he feels he is would eclipse any other factor. From what I can gather, it was a no brainer, such is their forward thinking, tolerant attitude to all human beings. It would not have even required a discussion and I LOVE THAT! In my mind THEY ARE AWESOME!

I think it is also, the most amazing gift to the transgendered community that they would BE this outstanding example of liberty and humanity. It shows they have an incredibly loving, broadminded, altruistic, balanced, beautiful decent mindset. That their is no better ambassador of human rights than the wonderful, beautiful (inside AND out) woman that IS Angelina Jolie, because she posses that rare, if albeit almost extinct quality in the human race, that is integrity and I am grateful that both she and the equally beautiful Brad Pitt exist as a glowing example of the recent tagline to many posts “PARENTING? YOU’RE DOING IT RIGHT!!!”

And still, HOURS after reading it. I’m close to tears, still feeling the emotions of overwhelming joy for their announcement. To be perfectly honest I’m totally bewildered by my own emotional reaction to this news.  Its just THE MOST groundbreaking unbelievably joyous news and I have NEVER had such an emotional reaction to a celebrity event in my entire life (save the deaths of John Lennon, Freddie Mercury and Robin Williams – but those were reactions of grief, so can’t be included as this is the first time I’ve had a reaction of positive emotion before).  Looking at the picture of John in his suit with his hair cut, I’ve never seen a more gorgeous little boy in my life and I’m as happy for him as I was as sad for Leela.

Leave a Reply

