NaNoHop unfollow period

I received an e-mail this morning (which many of you would have received)

This blog is about ADHD, so I won’t bore you with details, suffice to say, when I signed up for NaNoHop, I did not look at the small print, more than that? I didn’t really absorb much of the large print either, so this ‘unfollow thing’ was not on my radar, AT ALL!

The first alarming thought? ‘You’ve been spamming the life out of these poor fuckers, you are going to lose them all’!

Followed rather swiftly with, a rather stern. ‘Your content is daft at best, mildly amusing at most, but hardly helpful to those looking for ways to improve their own chances at writing successfully, you are SO screwed.’

As I am writing this I’m thinking, what can I promise them? I have loads of ideas, none of which I can legitimately promise you (such is the nature of ADHD) At the same time worrying about this, ‘follow those who have followed you, back’ thing.

For wordpress? Relatively easy (I hope πŸ˜‰ )

Twitter? Done without thinking already. (I literally follow those who follow me automatically)

Wix? HUGE issue and Raimey’s instructions on blog sites, I fear may not actually work for that one. Never mind the fact, that I do not possess the capacity to follow those very instructions. I did post on the wix site, that if you have followed me due to the hop, leave your websites details in a message and I WILL follow you.

As I am writing this, I am ALSO thinking, ‘you’re not helping yourself by spamming them some more.’

So, um, I don’t know, I can promise you content on this blog will after this be limited to ADHD, after this.

HOWEVER. IF you follow me on:

http://phoenixandasha.wixsite.com/author-blog

I CAN promise you stories sent to your e-mail in the new year! Stories not available to anyone but subscribers. Stories within stories, as Lucy begins to have ‘Twilight conversations’ with the older members of the pack and they begin to fill in the gaps,Β  her grand-father left out in the bed-time stories he told her as a child that informed her of their existence. Not told, as fairy tales or even family history but as actual werewolf history!

AndΒ  as I will be solely working on them, I CAN promise you less spam πŸ˜€ (for now)

Anyways…

That’s All Folks

 

 

11 thoughts on “NaNoHop unfollow period

  1. I had similar revalations. I mix “media” on my blog-I go from writing to mental health (mostly bipolar disorder) to political topics to whatever I feel like. I signed up for the hop because I thought it’d be great to reach a broader audience and then had some interesting conversations with people about how I should only have a writing page. I’m here to tell you that I think your posts are delightful, and I’ll keep reading as long as you keep writing. Sorry people suck sometimes!

    1. Thank you SO much. I’d be interested in reading your blog on Bi-polar my grandfather had bi-polar AND ADHD bless him, my youngest daughter has Borderline personality disorder, so mental health is rather close to my heart, it would be interesting to keep our lines of communication open, I probably follow u already as I followed everyone on the blog list, so hope we connect again soon! And I’m starting to realise not all people suck πŸ˜‰ so thank u for being a part of that realisation

      1. Anytime! Being able to write about anything at all is a gift-even if it’s just discussing our daily lives. I’ll be sure to pop in every now and again. It was lovely meeting you!

  2. I definitely will not be unfollowing you. I feel mental health is a big issue that needs to be talked about more. I’m glad you have a blog about it and I’ve found you through the NaNo Hop. Personally, I didn’t sign up just to find “writerly” friends. I joined to make real connections – no matter what we write about. Spam away! If I didn’t get “spam” – which I actually don’t consider spam – I probably wouldn’t get much in my inbox at all XD

    1. Thank you SO much, I’m kind of overwhelmed by the positive feedback this blog is receiving atm and your comment has literally made my day x

      1. I can’t ‘like’ your comment on here 😦 So, this is me saying I ‘like’ no ‘love’ yr comment πŸ˜€ and thank you SO much 4 the support!
        Your inappropriate cheer-leading outfit is in the post. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  3. I think it’s going to be too much of a pain to unfollow people systematically so I probably just won’t bother. There is a way to turn off the email on word press sites without unfollowing, though, if you go to “Manage Followed Sites.”

    And I agree with Anthromichelle and Late Summer, above. If there are blogs that I do unfollow it will be the ones that drone on endlessly about having to engage your reader with a kick-ass first line in medias res to ratchet up the tension and suspense because that’s what Stephen King does. Followed by them asking you to buy their book with a cover with artfully arranged blood on it. I’d rather read about almost anything else than writers writing about writing!

    And I have ADHD too πŸ˜‰

    1. “the ones that drone on endlessly about having to engage your reader with a kick-ass first line in medias res to ratchet up the tension and suspense because that’s what Stephen King does.” OMG yes! I might have ADHD but even I know there is more than one way to skin a cat (or write if that applies πŸ˜‰ ) I’ve always though that ‘content’ was what ‘I’ was supposed to be supplying despite the fact, I find it arrogant, presumptuous and boring AF! I’m not alone! I think I should be delivering the content you want, so in the, ‘me falling over vs how to write?’ I’m going to go for the ‘me falling over’ πŸ˜‰
      PS: Your comment may feature in my next blog entry (being ADHD yourself, I hope you’ll understand if I get side-tracked and forget, -next entry Jan 1st. I’m REALLY hoping I do not, thou)
      THANK YOU for your input! It has also made my day πŸ˜€
      xxx

Leave a Reply

