“Words have power.” A simple message.

 

I had to share this for the end of the year because it has changed my life!

I wrote, yesterday, about relationships on facebook that are fulfilling with people, I have yet to meet in person and this is an example. It is also an example of how I can pass on the blessing given to me, to you all…

It started with a lovely personal message of a personal Christmas wish. A gift so wonderful and personal to me by chance. A gift of someone using  THEIR gift to wish people a merry Christmas.

It was for anyone else a lovely gesture of goodwill, but for me? Well, I saw SO much more in it. This ‘so much more’ started a conversation, one that began with thanks (I would say  a simple thanks, but as you know, I do not do simple 😉 )

I gushed, like the mad woman I am. It was such a blessing to me, by chance and could be misconstrued as coincidence but ‘coincidence’ is just, (for me) God being anonymous! And so I gushed about his talent and how he had no idea how it blessed me.

A completely simple conversation to me, just what I do. You do something, that means something to me? I will elaborate every detail of how it blessed me, so you can understand it’s importance.

During this conversation, I received the pictured message and it impacted me in a way it never has before.

I knew that words have power, I was deeply affected by the story of Maya Angelo and how when she was a child, she was raped and then her rapist was killed, believing her words caused it she stopped talking for years. I knew of that, but it didn’t apply to me because I was very talkative as a child and I was always told. ‘shut up Andrea, no one is interested in what you have to say’ and THOSE words held power over me for years until I had a conversation, a simple conversation with Mr. Tony Kofi and he messaged me that above statement.

WHY?

It is personal ‘YOUR words are so very powerful’

And so now it rests on my desktop because if you are a writer,  you will know of the plaguing doubt when you think. ‘Why are you doing this, just quit, no-one is interested in your opinion.’ Apparently, it is a doubt felt by many in the artistic field and as I ministered my thanks to this wonderful man, he in return ministered the same to me and it was the greatest gift I have ever received at Christmas or any other time. It impacted my life such, I had to write a post about it.

My intention in this post was to tell you all. ‘Words have power’ but I think there’s more to it than that. Communicating has power. Conveying gratitude has power. Reminding yourself, that you do not know who’s life, your words have impacted, has power.

I opened that message this morning and read it again, the whole message from beginning to end and wept with joy. But also, reading between the lines it was obvious he was struggling with whether his gift was indeed a gift and it was obvious by the end of the conversation, my words changed that.

I struggle with whether I am wasting time with organizing words on a page  EVERY SINGLE DAY and now, I will have that excerpt on my desktop, to remind me of how I shouldn’t give up. How I should keep writing because MY words have power.

But here’s the thing, YOUR WORDS HAVE POWER TOO! As do your intentions when you write or say them! Have an impact today, encourage someone, love on someone, don’t wait for the difference, BE the difference. It reaps it’s own rewards, believe me!

Here’s wishing you ALL a very Merry Christmas and a joyous spanking new, new year!

PS: My last message of the year. “I Swear that, this time …

That’s ALL folks!”

 

 

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on ““Words have power.” A simple message.

Leave a Reply

