It’s Sunday…

…for many of you, this means Church.

I, myself, am going through a sanctification period, that is a period of separation, so I have to get my church from the internet.

This, is something I actually do every day, I watch a performance of Mark, by Max McLean, he plays Mark, telling his Gospel story.  For me, this is better than ANY movie of the story. His performance is engaging in a way that my ADHD is thoroughly consumed by it.

I have received, revelation after revelation, a different one, every single day, listening and watching the same story.  The readership of this blog will know of my very poor memory. That is why I can watch it every day and, it is the same, but new.

It actually started with listening to audio tracks of the Bible in general. When I’m working I need background noise that I can tune into or tune out of. So stuff that I know already, is better for me to listen to, than new stuff? I will know where I am within the narrative at any given time and as routine dictates my life as such it is a good way for me to subconsciously absorb but not a sure thing as, as you know, I lose WHOLE conversations ALL the time. However, seeing as your spirit can absorb without your mind, it was a good way to invite his presence, when the word is needed, the Holy spirit WILL bring it to your remembrance. (I know it sounds  flighty, but I’ve experienced this MORE than once, so I know it to be true)

Anywho, a few years ago, UCB (United Christian Broadcasters) had a station that was an audio Bible and a favourite narrator of mine on that platform was a man by the name Max McLean. I just loved his voice and would listen to him every day.  Then, this audio bible platform suddenly vanished. I never thought about it for the longest time, when on my YouTube ‘suggestions’ popped up Max McLean performing the Gospel of Mark.

So, of course, I selected it and WOW! I went through my usual hyperfocus. It was my main video (playlist)  every day but unlike normal hyperfocus, it didn’t fall away after a few days. EVERY DAY I see something different about the story. My favourite realisation was through a rather obscure scripture within Mark concerning the arrest in the garden of Gethsemane.

It is found in Mark 14. After he is arrested and the disciples have fled, in verse 51 it say’s this…

“51. And there followed him a certain young man, having a linen cloth cast about his naked body; and the young men lay ahold on him:

52. And he left the linen cloth and fled from them naked.”

I heard this every day and despite my inattentive persuasion, every time I heard it I would think, ‘What? Who was that?’Now, every day I’m hearing this a-new and expecting an explanation, until one day, when I think no, I’ve thought this before, there is no explanation included, so I’m going to research it.

I start with my study bible, that has extensive explanations of certain, confusing text. No joy there,  😦 .

This spurred me on. NOTHING in the bible is there by accident! I had to find out why this obscure character, who is never mentioned again, is there.

So, I turned to the internet and discovered something AMAZING that I had never heard before. Some scholars, think this was a reference to Mark, himself, getting up early and rushing out of bed to the garden but the geography of the place doesn’t fit this explanation as the garden was too far from a populated area to make the journey in time. The importance lies in the inclusion of the ‘linen’ garment.

Gethsemane was situated VERY close to a graveyard. The custom of the time was to strip and wash a corpse and wrap it in ‘linen’. Where it states.

“And there followed him…”

it was referring to someone who was seeking to discover who had, during the outpouring of power that pushed the soldiers back, actually RESURRECTED HIM!

It isn’t a scriptural discovery that has changed my life or situation. It is merely a scriptural discovery that has tickled me and blessed me SO much! I couldn’t even tell you why, only that I had missed it ALL these years!

Now, you may not be convinced by my argument and if you aren’t? That is your choice and there are actually many who believe his inclusion doesn’t matter and we aren’t meant to know everything, I actually agree, we don’t need to know everything but I don’t believe anything the Lord inspired those to write wasn’t important. So, that is what I believe and if you do not? I’ve got no problem with that! After all, your walk is different from mine.

But I believe it because, number one, it makes sense to me and No two, because it’s just a wonderful story and I LOVE WONDERFUL STORIES 😉

Leave a Reply

